Skip To Main Content

Science

The Hastings-on-Hudson Middle School Science Department is committed to helping students develop a life-long interest in science through a standards-based curriculum that includes investigation and experimentation. Students will improve their scientific literacy by exploring the physical and life sciences through laboratory and classroom based activities. Students will learn to interpret and apply course concepts to current scientific issues. Students will develop an understanding of how science impacts their daily lives.

Based on our department goals, we have designed curriculum to include:

  • hands-on experience conducting scientific experiments and opportunities for students to design and conduct inquiry based experiments
  • strategies to increase comprehension of scientific texts and improve scientific writing skills
  • instruction designed to relate to students' learning styles, interests, skills, and prior knowledge and experience

Contacts

Melissa Shandroff, Chairperson
shandroffm@hohschools.org

Thomas Adler
Earth Science
adlert@hohschools.org

Marc Rosner
7th Grade Science
rosnerm@hohschools.org

Fred Sandhop
7th Grade Science, Earth Science Support
sandhopf@hohschools.org 

Jill Ochacher
6th Grade Science, 7th Grade Science
ochacherj@hohschools.org

Joe Vaccaro
Earth Science
vaccaroj@hohschools.org